One Month In

Today marks the one-month anniversary of my new blog (woo!) and I think it’s a good time to reflect on why I decided to try writing a daily blog for the first time in my life.  When I started out, I wasn’t entirely sure, but I’m starting to develop some ideas.

I’ve never been a huge fan of social media sites like Facebook.  There isn’t much depth to that kind of communication.  To read Facebook is to be a rock skipping across a lake: you skim the surface of people’s lives and get a little wet, but there’s a whole other dimension you’re missing.  Facebook bothers me because when there’s something I really want to talk about, I never feel there’s enough space for it.  The medium is shallow by nature, so snippets like pithy quotes and cute photos thrive but anything longer than two paragraphs is TL;DR.

And I like to write.  I’m a creative writing major, for goodness’ sake.  I like reading and writing so much that I want to do it for the rest of my life.  So it’s hard for me to feel much kinship with a platform which seems claustrophobic.

If there’s one thing the blog form allows, it is room for me to blather on about any random topic for as long as I want. Also, compared to Facebook, here I have PHENOMENAL COSMIC POWER.  I choose what the blog looks like, what content gets posted, which comments to allow, etc. – an ideal situation for those with occasional control-freak tendencies like myself.  Muahahaha.

The creation of this blog also comes at a pretty major turning-point in my life: college graduation.  For the last K-12 (+4) years of my life school has made me write things, from my first grade story/journal on up. The mandated writing became so demanding, my desire to write non-required prose dwindled and stalled.  Heck no, I don’t want to write another 2,000 words of my story when I have a 15-page paper due next week!  I like writing, but not in a masochistic way.  So while I’ve continued working on my fiction here and there, my assignments have always taken priority.

With what is likely the end of my formal education looming, I want to get back in the habit of writing things because I want to write them, putting down words that aren’t related to some requirement, not lecture notes, topic brainstorming, or homework responses.  A daily blog is perfect for this because it doesn’t really matter what I’m writing as long as I keep writing.  Even if all I churn out is nonsense, practice can only help me at this point.  It’s the most basic of daily writing routines.

…And those are my thoughts on blogging on the one-month anniversary.  So far it’s been a fun experiment.  The strangest thing to me at this point is being able to look back at the people who are looking at the blog, through WordPress statistics.  For some bizarre reason, I had a massive spike in views today and I’m still not sure why.  That makes me a little paranoid… Oh, well. I hope the people who click over here aren’t finding it a waste of their time.

Now it’s time for a shout-out to my WordPress compatriots who were nice enough to follow my blog in its first month of life:

Thanks, all!  (Thanks also to my two by-email followers, who know who they are.)  One month down – hopefully many more to come!

6 thoughts on “One Month In

  1. Congrats on your one month! I stumbled across your blog through one of your comments on xkcd the other day, and really liked your style so here I am! I really want to blog myself, and I love writing (probably not as much as you do, being a creative writing major); I even have the site, and installed WordPress, but then… nothing. Complete creative block.

    Hopefully you’ll inspire me to actually getting around to taking that first step :)

Leave a Reply

